Three UAA Teams Selected For NCAA Baseball Championship

Three UAA Teams Selected For NCAA Baseball Championship

Case Western Reserve University, Emory University, and UAA champion Washington University all received bids to the 2016 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship.

All regionals will use a double-elimination format. Winners of the eight regional tournaments will qualify for the double-elimination championship at Fox Cities Stadium in Appleton, Wis., May 27-June 1.

Sixth-ranked Emory (30-10), seeking its third consecutive trip to the championship round, is the top seed in the South Region hosted by Berry College. The Eagles will open play against sixth-seeded Thomas More College.

Case Western Reserve University (26-13), which played the second-toughest schedule in NCAA Division III this season, heads to Spokane, Wash. as the third seed in the West Region and will face fourth-seeded host Whitworth University in its first game.

The Eagles and Spartans received the only two Pool "B" bids.

Washington University (31-16) received an at-large bid and makes its second consecutive appearance in the tournament. The Bears are seeded third in the Central Region hosted by Webster University and play fourth-seeded Augustana College in the first game.