Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Matt Organisak of Emory Named Semifinalist For Jack Nicklaus Award

Matt Organisak of Emory Named Semifinalist For Jack Nicklaus Award

From Emory University Athletics

Freshman Matt Organisak (Sudbury, MA), a key member of the No. 4-ranked Emory men's golf team, has been named by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) as NCAA Division III semifinalist for the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol. The Nicklaus Award recognizes the top players at the Division I, II, III, NAIA and NJCAA levels.

Organisak is one of 30 Division III golfers who will be considered for the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award.

Organisak has played in all of Emory's tournaments this season, averaging a team-best (10 rounds or more) 73.6 strokes over 19 rounds of action.He has either tied or ranked as the team's top performer on three occasions and has recorded a team-high tying five rounds of par or better. His best 18-hole effort of the season was a final-round 69 at the Golfweek DIII Fall Invitational, where he tied for fifth out of 95 competitors with a 54-hole score of 214, good for a third-place tie on the program's all-time ladder for a three-round mark. His top 36-hole effort was a four-under par 140 (70-70) at the Royal Lakes/Oglethorpe Fall Invitational, ranking fifth out of 102 entries and tying for fourth all-time at Emory.  

During the spring portion of the schedule, Organisak helped Emory to a first-place finish at the Callaway Gardens Intercollegiate by shooting a team-best 148 (74-74), tying for 10th on the leader board in a 102-player field.

The finalists for D-III will be announced May 16 at the GCAA Division III National Awards Banquet in Howey-in-the-Hills, Florida. The event will serve as part of the festivities surrounding the NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championship May 16 through 19.  Nicklaus Award recipients will be announced June 1 with the honor presented by Jack Nicklaus at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide at Muirfield Village Golf Club.

The five recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR's Barbasol Championship, held July 20-23, at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Grand National in Opelika, Ala. The Barbasol Shootout will be held Saturday, June 3 at the storied Scioto Country Club in Columbus, Ohio - the same club where Jack Nicklaus first learned the game of golf as a young boy.

Division III Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol Semifinalists

Jacob Arnett, Oglethorpe

Jarrod Brown, Mary Hardin-Baylor

Craig Decato, Methodist

Ryan Elmore, Berry

Mack Farley, St. John's (MN)

Ryan Gallagher, St. John's (MN)

Josh Gibson, Hope

Levi Grogan, Greensboro

Brady Hanson, Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Blake Hartford, Schreiner

Mats Heien, Mary Hardin-Baylor

Sam Hill, UT Tyler

Seger Howell, Concordia (TX)

Davis Jensen, Methodist

Addison Lambeth, Huntingdon

Logan Lanier, LaGrange

Conner O'Neil, Illinois Wesleyan

Matt Organisak, Emory

Grant Powell, Greensboro

George Qian, Carnegie Mellon

David Rabil, Christopher Newport

Brandon Rougeau, UT Tyler

Jonathan Shaw, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

Kyle Shealy, Oglethorpe

Matt Shuman, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

Sam Stilwell, Wittenberg

Mason Stutler, Methodist

Osborn Theam, LaGrange

Will Thrash, Huntingdon

John Van Noord, Calvin