Six UAA Men Selected For NCAA Division III Tennis Singles Championship

Six UAA Men Selected For NCAA Division III Tennis Singles Championship

Six Association student-athletes, including UAA Most Valuable Player Rafe Mosetick of Emory University, have been chosen to participate in the 32-player NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Singles Championship.

Mosetick and freshman teammate Jonathan Jemison will both represent the Eagles in the singles championship. Mosetick, who has posted a career record of 88-27 and a 24-6 mark this season, advanced to the finals of the 2015 ITA National Small Colleges Singles Championship and is making his first appearance in the NCAA singles tournament. Jemison, the UAA Rookie of the Year, has won nine consecutive matches and enters the postseason with a 25-4 record.

Senior Abhishek Alla and freshman Daniel Levine of Carnegie Mellon University were selected to compete in the singles championship. Alla, who reached the quarterfinals a year ago and won the 2013 ITA National Small Colleges Singles Championship, is making his third trip to the NCAA singles championship. Levine has posted a 21-8 record in his rookie season and earned the clinching point in the Tartans' victory in the third-place match at the UAA Championship in April.

Senior CJ Krimbill of Case Western Reserve University reached the national semifinals last year and will return to the singles tournament. This season, Krimbill joined former national champion John Watts of Washington University, as the only player in UAA history with 100 career singles and doubles victories. In the 2014 NCAA tournament, he advanced to the quarterfinal round in singles and teamed with Eric Klawitter to capture the NCAA Men's Tennis Doubles Championship title.

2015 UAA Rookie of the Year Nicholas Chua of University of Chicago will make his second appearance in the singles championship. Chua won the 2014 ITA National Small Colleges Singles Championship and was named ITA National Rookie of the Year.

Four UAA doubles teams were selected to participate in the 16-team NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Doubles Championship.

Krimbill and classmate Louis Stuerke return to the field after reaching the national semifinals in last year's championship. The tandem has won 12 consecutive matches and have posted a 28-5 record this season.

Chua and sophomore David Liu finished third at the 2015 ITA National Small Colleges Doubles Championship and enter the NCAA tournament with a 22-8 record this season.

Levine and fellow rookie Vayum Arora of Carnegie Mellon earned a spot in the doubles tournament with a 13-6 regular season mark and enter the postseason off wins at No. 1 doubles over Emory and Chicago.

Sophomore Scott Rubinstein and freshman James Spaulding of Emory are making their first appearance in the national doubles championship. The duo earned regular season victories over the No. 1 doubles teams of Chicago and CWRU.

NCAA singles and doubles play begins on Thursday, May 26 after the team championship concludes the previous day.