UAA Wrestling Squads Head to NCAA Division III Regionals

UAA Wrestling Squads Head to NCAA Division III Regionals

UAA champion NYU, University of Chicago and Case Western Reserve University will compete in three different NCAA Division III Wrestling Championship Regionals this weekend.

NYU will compete at the NCAA Division III East Regional Championships on Saturday and Sunday at the Warner Center in Lexington, VA. Three ranked teams headline the 18-team field: #12 Stevens Institute of Technology, #13 The College of New Jersey, and #14 Ursinus College.

East Regional Tournament Page

Junior Nathan Pike of NYU is currently ranked #1 in the nation at 133 pounds and seeks a return to the NCAA Championship. 174-pounder John Messinger earned UAA Most Outstanding Wrestler honors at this year's championship. 157-pounder Raymond Jazikoff was named UAA Wrestling Athlete of the Week on Monday.

Chicago will travel to Wabash College for the 2016 NCAA Midwest Regional on Saturday, after winning four weight classes and finishing second overall at the UAA Wrestling Championship. 

The 14-team field includes four ranked teams: #8 Wasbash, #11 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, #13 University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, and #17 Elmhurst College.

Midwest Regional Live Video

Sophomore Devan Richter represented the Maroons at the national championship last season after capturing the regional title at 125 pounds. Paul Papoutsis (165/174) leads the team in victories and Mason Williams has not lost since moving to 141 pounds.

CWRU will travel to Lycoming College in Williamsport, PA for the Mideast Regional.

The 18-team field is headlined by five ranked squads: #4 Messiah, #17 Wilkes University, #18 Baldwin Wallace University, #21 York College, and #25 State University of New York at Brockport.

Mideast Regional Live Results

Mideast Regional Live Video

The Spartans are led by 175-pounder Nick Lees and UAA Rookie of the Year Brian McNamara at 285 pounds.

The top three wrestlers in each weight class will earn a spot in the NCAA Division III championships in Cedar Rapids, IA on March 11 and 12.