Teri Clemens, Lori Nishikawa of Washington University Recognized for Success in History Book

Teri Clemens, Lori Nishikawa of Washington University Recognized for Success in History Book

From Washington University Athletics

Washington University in St. Louis Hall of Fame coach Teri Clemens was selected as the top coach in the history of NCAA Division III volleyball, in a vote of current and former coaches, players and media in the book, 'NCAA Volleyball History—Coaches, Players, Personalities & Teams' available on Amazon/Kindle.

Clemens, the winningest coach by percentage in NCAA volleyball history at the time of her retirement in 1998, guided her team to seven NCAA Division III national championships in 14 years. The owner of a 529-77 (.873) career record, she coached the Bears to the school's first NCAA title in 1989. 

Clemens' teams won an unprecedented six-straight NCAA Division III crowns from 1991 to 1996, and Clemens' 1992 squad is one of two undefeated champions (40-0) in Division III history. A five-time national coach of the year selection, she won 11 of the first 12 University Athletic Association (UAA) championships and posted a 136-1 conference record.

Clemens also has a feature story in the book as part of the section on the history of NCAA Division III.

Setter Lori Nishikawa was selected by the panel as the top player in NCAA Division III after leading WashU to its first national championship in 1989. Nishikawa became the first Bear athlete - in any sport, male or female - to be named as a three-time first-team All-American (1987, '88, '89). In addition, she became the first NCAA Division III volleyball player to twice receive national player of the year honors. Nishikawa ranks fifth on WashU's all-time assist list (4,310) and upon graduation in 1990, was the NCAA Division III career leader in service aces and ranked second in assists.

The NCAA Volleyball History book has background about every men's and women's NCAA Division I championship from 1970-2016, plus information on NCAA Division II and III championships and the start of the NCAA Women's Beach championships in 2016.